The Truth Is

26 Oct

I almost said the words last night

I told myself the moment was right

No one wants to be the one who says it first

But I’ve been keeping it inside, a secret so long, it hurts

I didn’t know how it happened at first. I didn’t know why the stars were aligned that night. I didn’t know how it felt so good, so real, I longed to keep my eyes closed. Until I opened my eyes and see you not there anymore.

The truth is that I love you

And I need to know from you if you love me too

The truth is that I want you completely

So if you love me too, I need to know from you

What the truth is

 

You are so far I can barely touch you, kiss you. The moments have passed yet the warmth of your kisses and touch lingers on my skin. It felt so right, it felt so real. Yet when I turned to ask you if you feel the same way too, all I heard were whispers like that of the rustling of leaves, like that of… nothing.

I’m trying to look behind your eyes

I’ve been trying to read between unspoken lines

We keep dancing ‘round and we don’t know what’s real

Can’t let the music end

Before we can find a way to say the things we feel

 

You held my hands and looked into my eyes. You smiled and my heart melted. You caged me into your arms and felt like the world stopped on turning forever. Until all I heard were the beating of our hearts. Then I closed my eyes again. And when I opened it, the warmth was gone; the cold wind greeted me through. It was cold; it chilled up to my bones.

The truth is that I love you

And I need to know from you if you love me too

The truth is that I want you completely

So if you love me too, I need to know from you

What the truth is

 

I was ready to let go, to shun those feelings of doubts. I was prepared to just go with the flow, but then you showed up once more, held my hands and relived my dying heart. But while my heart was rejoicing, my mind goes on questioning: Do you really love me, too? Or is this just another level of splitting my heart in two?

Oh, I thought I could just walk away

That you might be passing flame

I told myself I wouldn’t care

If you weren’t there

 

I locked my doors but you still have the key. I went away but my heart was left to stay. I dared to stop hoping once more, but my heart just keeps on longing for you all the more.

 

But the truth is that I love you

And I need to know from you if you love me too

The truth is that I want you completely

So if you love me too, I need to know from you

What the truth is

 

I don’t have super powers to read your mind. I don’t have magic to unlock your heart. Why can’t you just tell me why? My heart aches so bad, I wanna cry.

Oh, whoa, what the truth is

Tell me the truth is

 

Because the truth is that love has its own way of keeping you crazy and sane all at once.

Leave a Reply

