My Durian-eating challenge in Davao

7 Dec

Davao City is known to be a dazzling cornucopia of things to see and do. It offers a wide range of exciting and extraordinary adventures and activities that any tourists, even locals, won’t dare to miss.

Davao has been very well-known in housing the tallest mountain peak in the Philippines which is the Mount Apo. It is also home to the very rare and exquisite orchid—the waling-waling. Aside from these, it has also been inherently identified as the haven of the Philippine eagle.

But among all these treasure-trove offerings, the most exciting and must-try experience (for me) is eating the durian fruit. In fact, Davao City has been dubbed as the “Durian City of the Philippine” for this exotic fruit grows abundantly in this city.

As to why eating durian became a very extraordinary and really a-need-courage-all challenge for first-timers is because of its foul odor that would make you puke the moment it is stuffed into your mouth. The odor is like a fume from the unknown jungle (I might be exaggerating here but really the odor is no good at all). After eating, too, the smell in your breath won’t give up that easily. It would last until the morning even after having mouthwash or bubble gum.

I have observed from the durian eaters, though, that they would eat the fruit with their bare hands. This, they said, makes durian-eating all the tastier. Of course, I thought, the odor of the durian would stick on to their hands. The folks, though, gave a very simple hint that could wash the odor away. And that is by pouring water in the durian’s shell and washing your hand in it. Same thing goes with relieving the smell from your mouth. Pour water in the durian’s shell and use it as a gargle.  I did not try this tactic but these folks attested its wonders. I might try this when I get a chance to eat another durian fruit. I promise! It is not the most appetizing description to a fruit, yes, but certainly a Davaoeño favorite. In fact, it’s Davaoeños famous dessert.

And to give you an idea how this durian fruit looks like and how I struggled to stuff it into my mouth with all the super powers I can summon, take a look at the photos below.

The exotic Durian fruit!

I nearly puked!

Trying all might to swallow it.

One chunk down! Yahoo!

Success!

Just some of the left-overs.

I was able to finish four huge chunks! Yehey! And for an adventure-seeker, must-try-it-all person that I am, this is one of the challenges I’ll forever cherish. It wasn’t really easy to keep stuffing it in your mouth but indeed it’s worth a try.

After surpassing such challenge, for sure you’ll say: One more!

9 Responses to “My Durian-eating challenge in Davao”

  1. Scott Mitchell December 7, 2011 at 8:06 PM #

    Haha, cute pics. Wow, that’s an exotic looking fruit. I’m not sure I could do the challenge. Well, maybe if I was in my adventure mood 😀
    Good pics and writeup!

    • joahnadiyosa December 8, 2011 at 8:18 AM #

      Haha! Thanks, Scott! If ever you’ll visit Philippines, try this challenge. It would make you trip worth every penny of it. Hehe..

      Thanks for dropping by again. 🙂

  2. Tracey December 8, 2011 at 2:09 PM #

    i’d love to try that challenge too! hi Joahna i’ve already added you on FB@

    • joahnadiyosa December 8, 2011 at 3:56 PM #

      Hi Tracey! Go try it! It’s worth it, I assure you! 🙂 And see you in FB. 🙂

      • Darkwix January 7, 2012 at 8:18 PM #

        you should eat it barehand its no fun if you eat it with fork and you should eat durian as a group…

  3. Tom Baker March 16, 2012 at 9:01 PM #

    I’ve heard it tastes pretty good but the smell is hard to get past. You are much more brave than I.

    • joahnadiyosa March 17, 2012 at 2:55 PM #

      At first, i really hated the smell, too. I even told myself not to ever eat even a minute piece of it. But see? It’s actually the smell that makes it a very sumptuous fruit. You should try! You’ll feel the bravest after! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Savoring ‘bulcachong’, an exquisite Davaoeño delicacy « sipping coffee. . . - December 12, 2011

    […] But what makes bulcachong particularly different and loved is its gingery taste which gives an extra spicy kick that lingers in the partaker’s mouth for at least a minute. It is not the most appetizing description to a dish but certainly a Davaoeño favorite. In fact, it has become a must-try exotic food like that of the famous durian fruit. […]

  2. 12 best places I visited in 2011 « sipping coffee. . . - January 6, 2012

    […] Davao City Durian fruit in Davao City. This city offers unlimited list of things to do and places to visit. […]

Leave a Reply

